OBD II access - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-27-2019, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Nakul Malik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: India
Posts: 56
Garage
OBD II access

Hi,
Has anyone used a generic OBD reader successfully on the 310?
I tried using a bluetooth ELM 327 OBD reader which I use on my cars and it won't even power up. That could be either due to the bike not supplying 12V on pin-16 of the OBD port or it could be that there is some totally different pinout and only the plug is a common form-factor.

I just got the repair manual but need to get access to a windows machine to check and see if they mention anything about it in there. That will take a couple of days for me.

If anyone knows more about this, I would appreciate some more information.
Nakul Malik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-27-2019, 06:20 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
I have used a cheap elm327 to connect with the torque app on my phone no problem, also connected with vcds the vw.diagnostic software on my laptop.
Motoscan with the correct adaptor which is designed for bmw bikes and also covers the abs system and service interval resets is good up to a point,but doesn't yet give engine live data but I am informed that this will be coming in a future update.
BigT is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-27-2019, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
G0MYW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marlow. UK
Posts: 184
Garage
I think you might need to try one of these OBDLINK LX [ look on Amazon ]
with Motoscan - Android from PlayStore
this will help ..
G0MYW is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-28-2019, 09:58 AM
PCV
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nakul Malik View Post
Hi,
Has anyone used a generic OBD reader successfully on the 310?
I tried using a bluetooth ELM 327 OBD reader which I use on my cars and it won't even power up. That could be either due to the bike not supplying 12V on pin-16 of the OBD port or it could be that there is some totally different pinout and only the plug is a common form-factor.

I just got the repair manual but need to get access to a windows machine to check and see if they mention anything about it in there. That will take a couple of days for me.

If anyone knows more about this, I would appreciate some more information.

I got a reader from Aldi and it powers up fine, but being a reader does not allow adjustment/reset.
PCV is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-28-2019, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
G0MYW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marlow. UK
Posts: 184
Garage
yep ... not surprised, many chinese obdc will not work.
at least the OBDLINK LX has worked for me on different bikes / cars.
yes it is much more $£€, but works.
G0MYW is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome