Installing Heated Grips - Am I Doing It Right? - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-24-2017, 03:42 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Installing Heated Grips - Am I Doing It Right?

Hoping someone can confirm I'm on the right track with this or steer me in a better direction since I'm a bit new at all this.

I bought a pair of Bike Master Heated Grips (can't link them for some reason, they're on Revzilla though).

They don't interface with the accessory socket on our 310s, which is a bummer, since I would have loved to just plug them in right behind the headlight in that blanked out lead. I think what I'm going to do is to is a posi-tap and tap the rear plate light, then ground to the negative terminal.

What do you all think about this? Am I gonna cause any problems? I'd rather not hook directly up to the battery since I know I'd forget to turn them off one day and drain it by accident. I'd like to hook up to an ignition-keyed wire.
Ligkonakos and Defender like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-25-2017, 02:41 PM

Your plan should work.
But you could still work with the accessory connector behind the headlight instead of running cables all over the bike. This is an ignition-keyed connection.
If you want to retain the stock accessory connector, then just cut the tie-wrap holding it in place, then hopefully you have enough slack to work with and install 2 of those "posi-taps" on the wires before they reach the connector. One on the positive, the other on the ground (the black/white cable is the ground one).
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-2017, 12:08 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Thanks for the input!