BMW Navigator V installation - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 7Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-04-2018, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
AzizaVFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
BMW Navigator V installation

One of the items I wanted to put on my daughter's bike is a GPS. I purchased a new Navigator VI for my GS and decided to mount the Nav V on the 310. After talking with my parts guy, he said there was some difficulty with getting the cradle and mounting brackets made for the bike. The part number in question is: 77538388827. While I was in the dealership, I checked out the other bikes to see what mounts were being used. For the ultimate minimalistic look, the mount I saw on the R1200R was the smallest version. It is not lockable, like the cradle on the GS. This is part number 65908535826

Underneath the headlight assembly, you will find a 12VDC switched power connection. It is the connector with the markings, 7543312-02. The orange is +. The cable which comes with the GPS connector has two white male connectors. For my installation, since I only wanted power connected to the GPS, made a jumper to connect the red wire from the mount to the orange wire for +, and black to black for -. All connections were sealed from the environment, and reassembled.

I made the two aluminum pieces to fit the ProTaper Yamaha Mini bars I was installing at the same time. These were made to fit the 0.500" crossbar, providing plenty of clamping force and more robust than the factory plastic mounts. At the same time, my daughter picked out a set of ProGrip blue/black grips to give a better feel. To install new bars, you will need to locate and drill two holes in the handlebar to use with the locating/anti-rotation pins in each control pod. This is a recommended step. Using the crossbar for mounting the GPS also will allow installation of the MRA windscreen without any interference between the two mounting area fighting for the same space to the handlebar clamping bolts.

I did order a set of adjustable levers for this bike, yet when received, they are completely different that was was visually represented from the Amazon seller. I hope to get this resolved shortly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	G310R_switched_power.jpeg
Views:	664
Size:	81.5 KB
ID:	3706   Click image for larger version

Name:	G310R_BMW_NAV_V_3.jpeg
Views:	598
Size:	101.4 KB
ID:	3714   Click image for larger version

Name:	G310R_BMW_NAV_V_2.jpg
Views:	638
Size:	125.9 KB
ID:	3722   Click image for larger version

Name:	G310R_BMW_NAV_V_1.jpg
Views:	754
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	3730  
SCG310R, efu and Music City BMW like this.

Give a man a milling machine, a lathe, and other dangerous tools and he shall create the greatest pile of useless chips ever conceived.
AzizaVFR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-04-2018, 09:47 PM
Junior Member
 
Mint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 10
Wow! That satnav looks nice there, perfect positioning.
Mint is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-05-2018, 02:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 814
Garage
I have a (quite) old TomTom Rider2 but it still works perfectly.
This device I will put on my G310R and I'm thinking of using the (Original) RAM mount.
I put the accesoire socket on the bike and I'm thinking of using that for the Navi-power.


On my F800ST I had three batteries that went dead because 'power was leaking' and draining the battery quite fast (my dealer told me !).
That risk I want to avoid and after getting off the bike, I want to disconnect the mount completely from the battery (pull the plug !)


At the moment it is not really a nice time to work on the beamer (to cold) so the little things I want to change / adjust will have to wait for warmer times.
Bas310 is offline  
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-05-2018, 02:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 814
Garage
Oh yes, I forgot,
AzizaVFR, the work you did looks great.
I think you are a great DIY !
Bas310 is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-05-2018, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
AzizaVFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Bas310, did you wire in the accessory plug directly to the battery? The connection provided for by BMW behind the headlight does not provide any power when the key is switched off. I, too, have killed several batteries from devices connected directly to the battery. The last item was my HID ballasts. I found one which had a parasitic current draw, taking about two weeks to drain a fully charged unit due to inactivity.

Give a man a milling machine, a lathe, and other dangerous tools and he shall create the greatest pile of useless chips ever conceived.
AzizaVFR is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-07-2018, 08:38 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
AzizaVFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
I was able to take the bike out to test both the handling difference with the new handlerbars, grips and the GPS mount. The placement about ideal. You can see both the instrument cluster and GPS without one blocking the other.

I also took the opportunity to do a top speed run. Conditions were 57 degrees F, 1825ft above sea level, and a 175lbs rider. Four runs were done with the top speed shown by the GPS. The speedometer was showing 99mph while the GPS was at 97mph. I am unsure if the speedo has more than two digits for its display. I will have to do additional comparisons to see how much different between the actual speed recorded by GPS versus the speedo at normally traveled speeds.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	G310R_GPS_TS.jpg
Views:	331
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	3826  

Give a man a milling machine, a lathe, and other dangerous tools and he shall create the greatest pile of useless chips ever conceived.
AzizaVFR is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-08-2018, 05:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Tactical_r3dn3ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzizaVFR View Post
I was able to take the bike out to test both the handling difference with the new handlerbars, grips and the GPS mount. The placement about ideal. You can see both the instrument cluster and GPS without one blocking the other.

I also took the opportunity to do a top speed run. Conditions were 57 degrees F, 1825ft above sea level, and a 175lbs rider. Four runs were done with the top speed shown by the GPS. The speedometer was showing 99mph while the GPS was at 97mph. I am unsure if the speedo has more than two digits for its display. I will have to do additional comparisons to see how much different between the actual speed recorded by GPS versus the speedo at normally traveled speeds.
It will go to 3 digits. According to the speedometer I hit 100mph
NZWestie likes this.
Tactical_r3dn3ck is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-08-2018, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Northern Waitakeres, New Zealand
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tactical_r3dn3ck View Post
It will go to 3 digits. According to the speedometer I hit 100mph
Yup, they always have to be able to for when the instruments are configured for reading in kmh...

"If you think stuff is simple, you really don't understand it..." Albert Einstein
NZWestie is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-09-2018, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 814
Garage
AzizaVFR
I (or actually my dealer) wired the original accessory plug on the original wire (left side under the seat)
I don't know or didn't know there is another connection provided for by BMW behind the headlight.


On my F800ST it did ( wired over the 'key') and even with the power off, the battery ran flat in days.


Now I will use the accessory plug and when leaving the bike, unplug the navigation device (TomTom Rider 2) and leave the plug somewhere under the seat.
Yes, some extra work but I will have power to start the bike.


Thanks for your advice
Bas310 is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-11-2018, 11:16 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
Posts: 29
Garage
7543312-02 Connector

Hi Folks, does anybody recognise the 7543312-02 connector as a standard type? I am thinking of wiring a 12V to 5V to USB C for my phone to charge when using the sat nav app. It would be an easier job if the connector was an easy to source part.
Thanks
Medicine Man is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome