Choosing my first bike. Candidates : Baby GS, CRF250L, Freeride 250F...? - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 07:06 PM Thread Starter

I got bitten by the Enduro trailing bug this winter when a friend offered to go to a rental, take some bigger KTMs and have a blast in the local woods. That was both : exciting and extremely exhausting.
Exciting - plowing through the snow on these machines with 2 wheels is a feeling like no other 🙂 (Pic bellow)

Exhausting - traditional KTM seating height was way too high for me, I am 178cm(~5'10), plus riding in snow where you can't see the terrain under the tires coupled with the fact that I am a complete novice could be 'a bit' stressful 🙂

But ever since that trip - I can't think of anything else. So I've decided to give it a go this summer. Looking for my I'st bike. Since I'm here - obviously baby GS is on my shortlist. On top of it to be honest.

But I must admit - I am still on the fence, trying to decide between :
- Baby GS
- Honda CRF250L
- KTM Freeride 250F

They all seem nice, capable when thrown some off-road challenges. At least from reviews.

Off-road is something I am after ( trails in the woods and meadows, small puddles of water, passing through and having fun in some deserted gravel quarries - coupled with some occasional asphalt for getting to and back from off road ..).

Would greatly appreciate if you could pitch in with your insights, especially if you have had the chance to have direct experience with some of these on my short list.

Greetings from warming up Lithuania.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Enduro_Lithuania_Tours_2019-02-10_00071_1551826614047.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	307.7 KB
ID:	12496  
angiedave, Ligkonakos and gregtixa like this.

Last edited by Boomerius; 03-05-2019 at 07:19 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 09:29 PM

Garage