Newbie here - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Nsbeckett
  • 1 Post By SCG310R

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-22-2018, 11:45 AM Thread Starter

Newbie here

Hey guys,

After much deliberation I'm currently on the search for my first bike. I've been looking at a few different options, but I find myself coming back to the G310. I'm torn between getting a bike that I may likely outgrow or getting something too big and powerful and injuring myself. So I've come to ask for your expertise and suggestions, and I look forward to seeing what you guys have to say about the bike.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-22-2018, 01:31 PM

Garage
Hi remy,
Welcome to this forum.
If you look at the ‘demographics’ thread you will find a lot of experienced riders.
I’m sure you can get a lot of good advice and I will start.

When I started riding motorcycles, I had a Honda CB 250.
In the first few weeks I was riding the smaller roads because riding on a motorway, doing over 100 km/hr, was a little bit scary.
Before I had a little “ Brommer”, just 50 cc and a top speed of 45 km/hr.

After getting used to higher speeds an the handling of the motorcycle I bought my first BMW, a R65.
After that many Beamers have been in my garage and I did a lot of traveling all over Europe and the US.

I drove K75’s, a R100Rs, two R80’s, a R850 followed by a R850 RT and a F800ST. Beside that I drove the smaller bikes from my wife.
My experience is that the best thing to stay alive is begin small and work your way up BUT ........ surviving has not always something to do with the amount of cc’s or power.
You as the driver are the most important ‘THING’ that makes a bike safe or dangerous.
Train yourself in riding safely, follow safety courses and remember, all other people in traffic are there to kill you 😇.
Keep the rubber on the road and stay healthy.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-22-2018, 03:57 PM Thread Starter

Hey Bas,