Downsizing to a BMW G310R - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 04:05 AM Thread Starter

Downsizing to a BMW G310R

Hi from a 2016 Suzuki SV650 I have been downsizing my bikes for the past 5 years mainly because as you get older the physical weight of moving your bike around becomes more difficult I have had since I first started riding in 1975 nearly 20 bikes up to 900cc including all the Japanese makes and Triumphs (6) Moto Guzzi and BMWs (5) and my last downsizing was from a BMW F800R to my current bike a 2016 Suzuki SV650. I am now looking to downsize again and seen many reviews on the 310s and have been interested in this forum. I will be taking a test ride on a BMW 310R as soon as the weather here in the UK stops raining, but my question to any of you owners especially any in the UK is can the 310 keep up with the UK speed limits. My concern is on paper the difference between the 650 and the 310 is half in every spec a 650cc, 75hp V-twin down to a 310cc, 34hp single. I have never been interested in the top speed of any bikes I have owned I have always looked at the toque the engine produces to be able to maintain good progress and stay within the speed limits and road conditions. Can anyone who has downsized to a BMW 310R or GS give me their experience. I know it will be down to my own experience on the test ride but other people’s long term ownership is valuable. Many thanks and I hope I will be a proud owner of a BMW 310R in mid April, which colour is another decision my Suzuki is White/Blue with blue wheels so the HP would not be much of a change and they stopped the Blue in the 2019 models so it could be the Cosmic Black and I always associate Red with Honda.
Many thanks
Tony
W8NONU likes this.

Last edited by OldBiker; 03-12-2019 at 04:17 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 04:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldBiker View Post