Cold Start Issue in Chinese market - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 12:25 PM Thread Starter

Cold Start Issue in Chinese market

Hello People,

Recently, there is a huge group of 310 owners cannnot start their bike in northern China. I saw the video, the start only rev for probably .001sec ish. Then the motor gave up. People saying that was a bad battery issue. But I saw the discussion about cold start issue from past posts, it does not seem the same. Old posts are talking about decompression, timing and etc. I am also guessing something was wrong when BMW lower the power output of 310 for Chinese market.

People are complaining they dont expect BMW for such expensive bike (7-8k USD) and from BMW. (I am an engineer, I know nothing with wheels can guarantee no problem at all out of the assembly line, that is why we have recall. but public opinion was there.) Meanwhile, a lot of commercial id (probably some Chinese manufactures seems ) on Chinese social media are using this big scale unhappy accident promoting their social media id and their bikes. They make 310 owners like fool (it really hurts). Some social media ids are promoting BMW is not responding to owners, like abandoning Chinese owner, but it just happened recently.

Many owners of bikes with lower mechanical and electronics reliability are laughing at 310 owners in China simply because they can start the bikes in low ambient temp. But actually they have more reliability issues. BTW, Versys and Duke owners now are also laughing at them as well (I mean they are all good bikes, so sad for 310 owners in China). Owners with different bikes are like enemies in China, keep defending their choice everyday (I mean we all want to make sure we did the good choice. but they are defending themselves in a bad way)