Are dealers obligated to disclose Stop Sale? - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By B1011r
  • 2 Post By Tickster

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-27-2018, 08:12 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Are dealers obligated to disclose Stop Sale?

There are several issues with the G310R/ GS water pump, and side stand.

The side stand issue has resulted in a Stop Sale resulting in a fix that either installs a bracket, or a new replacement frame.

I'm not an engineer, but I understand that some metal cracks, especially on painted parts are not visible to the naked eye. Personally I feel that a defect that might require the replacement of the entire fame as a big deal.

Some of the unsold bikes are not effected by this Stop Sale.

Do you feel that the dealers have any obligation to disclose and discuss the fix with prospective New bike owners?

Do existing owners, who are effected by the stop sale, under any obligation to reveal this situation to potential Used bike purchasers?

I know that many feel that this is no big deal, but I don't feel comfortable getting a 2018 based the stop sale. I will wait for the 2019 model bikes being released before I go shopping.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-27-2018, 09:16 PM

Garage
Bikes manufactured after mid May (IIRC) have a redesigned sidestand pivot and aren't affected by the stop sale.

Bikes manufactured prior to that date are the subject of recalls in both Canada and the USA, although the USA was a bit late to the party. There is a retrofit reinforcement that I heard takes about 1/2 hour to install.

2018 BMW G310GS
2013 Triumph Tiger Explorer
1986 Yamaha SRX-6
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-27-2018, 09:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave92029 View Post
There are several issues with the G310R/ GS water pump, and side stand.

The side stand issue has resulted in a Stop Sale resulting in a fix that either installs a bracket, or a new replacement frame.