Riding impressions from an FZ07 owner - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By NIKITAUCLA

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 02:52 PM Thread Starter

Riding impressions from an FZ07 owner

I'm setting this G310R for my wife who is 5'1. I'm only 5'5. With boots, I think I'm 5'6.

I've been riding for 30 years mostly off-road because I stopped riding street about 15 years ago.
I came back to street riding because of bikes like the G310R (in my case, it was the FZ07) because the riding is similar to a dirt bike.

What I love about the G310R:
1. Handling - The handing is awesome. On turns or corners, the steering is neutral which gives me so much confidence. The front suspension of the G310R is way better than my Yamaha FZ07. I cannot predict the behavior of the FZ07 during turns in the corners while I'm totally at ease on the G310R.

2. Suspension - The suspension seems to be stiffer than the FZ07 too although I only weigh 140 lbs. This is neither good nor bad.
3. Braking - My FZ07 has no ABS so this is way better than my bike. The ABS allows me to ride more aggressively but at a higher risk to myself. For commuting, ABS is a godsend.

What I wish could be better:
1. POWER - Oh I wish this machine would have 10HP....someting like 45-50HP. This would be an awesome street and canyon weapon. As of now, this is the perfect bike for the street only. I would be hesitant to commute daily on the highways because there is not enough power to get you out of trouble between 55mph and 75mph. There is not enough torque at those speeds.
Cees Klumper likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 09:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIKITAUCLA View Post
I'm setting this G310R for my wife who is 5'1. I'm only 5'5. With boots, I think I'm 5'6.

I've been riding for 30 years mostly off-road because I stopped riding street about 15 years ago.