Thinking of replacing the stock handlebar - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-03-2019, 09:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 139
Thinking of replacing the stock handlebar

I discovered that the handlebar on the R model is 1.5 inches wider than the one on my FZ07. I prefer the FZ07 handlebar. Has anyone replaced the handlebar? Any issues or gotchas?
NIKITAUCLA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Los Angeles - CA
Posts: 102
Garage
Same here. I am will be replacing my handlebar soon. While on a little off-road adventure this past weekend I went down on a super sandy patch and my handlebar bent pretty bad. I was able to pull back in place (kinda) but I will need a new one.

Never done before but I hope it's easy. I will update this thread once I get to it, but if anyone have done already let me know.
Fred Fleury likes this.

Greg

- Black G310GS
gregtixa is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 12:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 139
You bent the bars? Wow. This was the GS or R?
NIKITAUCLA is online now  
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Los Angeles - CA
Posts: 102
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by NIKITAUCLA View Post
You bent the bars? Wow. This was the GS or R?
YESSS!! GS!

I bought a Rizoma that the measurements are similar hopefully fits and the install is easy! Will get it next Tuesday.

Greg

- Black G310GS
gregtixa is offline  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 01:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 139
This past weekend I finally replaced the stock handlebar on my wife's G310R with the FZ07 stock handlebar. The reason was that the stock BMW was too wide and not close enough to the rider. It was an easy install, and I only had to drill two holes.
gregtixa likes this.
NIKITAUCLA is online now  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Los Angeles - CA
Posts: 102
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by NIKITAUCLA View Post
This past weekend I finally replaced the stock handlebar on my wife's G310R with the FZ07 stock handlebar. The reason was that the stock BMW was too wide and not close enough to the rider. It was an easy install, and I only had to drill two holes.
Glad to hear it was easy. Are the two holes for keep the controls from twisting? 1 on each side?

Greg

- Black G310GS
gregtixa is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 38
Garage
Factory bars are like butter and very soft. Best thing to do for an R or GS is to swap them over for something aftermarket which is significantly stronger. This can make the difference between a bike being written-off, or just a few cosmetic scratches and able to still be ridden.
Stefan Lepicier-Gibson is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-23-2019, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Los Angeles - CA
Posts: 102
Garage
Well, it was super easy to install. I did have to drill two holes as NIKITAUCLA said but super easy. The new handle bar I got is 20 mm shorter, so I might have a hard time making my barkbusters work. I am also still waiting for the risers.

I just received the inserts to mount the bar-end weights and barkbusters so will try to finish tonight. The new handlebar is 1.1lb and the factory handlebar is about 2.2lb....half the weight!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6DEF1AC2-3B41-45C1-980A-136CFE970D64.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	12776   Click image for larger version

Name:	87EFFCCC-E53E-4BBE-939C-87780FC7799C.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	147.3 KB
ID:	12778  

Greg

- Black G310GS
gregtixa is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-23-2019, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 38
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregtixa View Post
Well, it was super easy to install. I did have to drill two holes as NIKITAUCLA said but super easy. The new handle bar I got is 20 mm shorter, so I might have a hard time making my barkbusters work. I am also still waiting for the risers.

I just received the inserts to mount the bar-end weights and barkbusters so will try to finish tonight. The new handlebar is 1.1lb and the factory handlebar is about 2.2lb....half the weight!
Easily done, you've this far, so you GOT THIS!!!

Stefan Lepicier-Gibson is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-23-2019, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Los Angeles - CA
Posts: 102
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Lepicier-Gibson View Post
Easily done, you've this far, so you GOT THIS!!!

Nice! Which bars did you get?
NIKITAUCLA and Scouse like this.

Greg

- Black G310GS
gregtixa is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome