3Likes
  • 1 Post By LeakyTailpipe
  • 1 Post By porth
  • 1 Post By porth

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 12:25 AM Thread Starter

R&G Fender Eliminator HELP w/ Wiring

Hi guys, 18' G310R owner here!

I've purchased the R&G Fender Eliminator kit with micro LED's and the install went fine up until the wire stripping and bullet connectors came in. I thought I did an OK job of stripping and fitting the male/female bullet connectors on their respective wires. But when I put the battery back in and turned the key only my right turn signal worked(and even then the flash rate was too fast). My left turn signal and brake light/licence plate light did not work.

My question is what could be the problem? I am a complete noob to wiring and motorcycle ownership but I figured I followed the provided instructions properly. I really wish there was a youtube video for this specific kit.

Can anyone provide some clues?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 03:21 PM

I don't have a wiring diagram in front of me, but I'll offer a few suggestions. First of all, do you have a multimeter to check the continuity of your crimped connections? This is the easiest thing to check and probably the issue.
How many wires are there? Do any of the circuits share the same ground?
If you have LEDs and you reversed the wires then they won't illuminate (LEDs are diodes and therefore only allow current flow in one direction).
Also, make sure no fuses are blown to indicate a short in your wiring. I doubt the lights are on separate fused circuits, but it never hurts to check.

At any rate, I would double check the crimp of the connectors and maybe even flux and flow some solder into them to be sure. Can you post a pic of the connectors for us to look at?
smurf07 likes this.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 11:44 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeakyTailpipe View Post