Gear Position Indicator fault - BMW G310 R/GS Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Electroblisio
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 02:44 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 14
Gear Position Indicator fault

My engine warning light is coming on once the engine is up to temperature (65-75 degrees) and the gear position indicator fails to register which gear it's in. Same with putting it into neutral, it goes in to neutral but fails to show "N". I've spoken to my dealership and they think it might be a faulty gear position sensor and it will be going back to them to be fixed. Has anyone had a similar issue?
Electroblisio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
G0MYW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marlow. UK
Posts: 169
Garage
Yes its a well known design fault - not sure if the replacements are of a better quality, but its not happened to me again.
G0MYW is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
heap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 217
Reading back older posts yes some users had this problem already.
The part is externally mounted and should be easy to replace.
FYI: if you want to know where/what it looks like, see this post: https://www.g310rforum.com/forum/45386-post11.html

'18 G310R
heap is online now  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 12:13 AM
Super Moderator
 
Cees Klumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Marina del Rey, California
Posts: 341
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to Cees Klumper
When mine acted up once (gear position indicator) I just took it off, leaving it plugged in, moved it manually through its paces, saw it worked fine again, then bolted it back in place. Been fine since.
Your engine warning light concerns me more, have that checked for sure.

2018 G 310 R, 2016 C 650 Sport and 1976 (!) Yamaha XS650
Cees Klumper is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 54
ECU reset.

You could always try to reset the ECU(it's free).

Disconnect one of the battery leads, switch on ignition and briefly active front and rear brakes, switch ignition off and wait for 5-15 minutes(I don't have the exact time as it varies from make to make and ditto models).

P.J.
P.J. is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-27-2019, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 14
Bike back from dealers and it was the gear position potentiometer at fault. Replaced and running better now! Fingers crossed nothing else
G0MYW likes this.
Electroblisio is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome