BMW G310 R/GS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone. Just came back from my 2nd ride (drive) which was very enjoyable.
Embarrassingly enough, I dropped the bike after filling up at a service station.

Got home safely. Parking in the garage, I noticed that there is oil dripping from the front brakes.

I'm a total newbie, can someone assist here? what to check and where?

More info:
brake fluid level in the sight glass showing 'full'.
walking around the bike looks pretty clean. However, the bottom of the caliper is dump and some oil/fluid on the rim and tyre. ?!?

Thank you in advance.

Another update. This is how it looks like after sitting in the garage all night.
A clear drop of some fluid from somewhere. ?!?

Attachments

·
Registered
11 Posts
Hello everyone. Just came back from my 2nd ride (drive) which was very enjoyable.
Embarrassingly enough, I dropped the bike after filling up at a service station.

Got home safely. Parking in the garage, I noticed that there is oil dripping from the front brakes.

I'm a total newbie, can someone assist here? what to check and where?
Thank you in advance.
View attachment 16025
Oil or brake fluid? If the brake lever feels spongy or you can pull it right back easy, it is probably brake fluid. Needs checking asap.

·
Registered
96 Posts
We have all done it, which side did the bike go down on? I would wash the affect area of oil and dry it, then apply the brakes and check for leaks, then bounce the front forks up and down and again check for leaks. Don’t forget to check the handle bar brake reservoir and connections for any leaks.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·