BMW G310 R/GS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi riders! Newbie here. Love the look of the 310gs. Drove one, it was fun!
I'm a bit hesitant or concerned for the fit. I'm 193cm.
My legs kind of go more around the take rather than under. Don't know if that's right or wrong but in trying the versys 300, I have to say the geometry is slightly better. my legs going tighter on the tank, more parallel and more under.

Is that a big deal really or a clearly better fit or would the GS be fine as well?

Appreciate the thoughts of other tall riders!
Thks in advance!

·
Registered
1 Posts
I'm 188cm And it seems to be hard to get to a standing position. I had a Honda CR 500 dirt bike, and standing was easy on it. On the 310 I feel like I'm pulling on the bars too much to get to a standing position. Seated it feels fine. Just my legs are folded enough to make it a bit difficlut to stand up on very short notice. Like when you see the rock is worse than you thought it was, and want to stand.

Perhaps the taller seat would help.

·
Registered
35 Posts
The GS is a very tall bike compared to the competition, even those of a larger capacity. I find it comfortable at 1.85m..

·
Registered
102 Posts
I'm 190cm, and interestingly I felt comfortable on the 310GS but cramped on the Versys 300. I think the seat and fairing are a bit wider on the BMW than the Kawi, hence the feeling of your legs being wider. I find the factory BMW seat comfortable on long rides, but I think I remember reading a lot of complaints about the Kawi seat needing an upgrade due to being so narrow. As long as your legs fit into the recesses in the BMW's fairing, I would say you fit.

And I completely agree with Dantama. I can't stand on the pegs with the factory bars. I added risers last year, but I'm taking them off this year as I don't plan on doing much offroading this year and I believe they increase strain in my shoulders on long rides.

·
Registered
2 Posts