BMW G310 R/GS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have any experience yet removing the plastics on a GS? I want to get under/remove the fuel tank. Removed what appeared obvious with no luck.
I have owned three other BMW's and currently have a F800GT in addition to the GS so I have some knowledge of BMW's way of doing things but as this doesn't come from a BMW factory I don't want to get too ham fisted.

·
Registered
469 Posts
Probably not too many owners of the few out there have removed the plastics.
I saw a parts schematic somewhere online, if I find it, I will post it.
Maybe that would be some help, or a shop manual if they exist yet online.
May I ask why you are getting into the guts?
Cheers,
Rick

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I want to run some wires. In addition I was thinking of gluing some magnets to the underside of the plastic tank cover so I could still
use my favorite tank bag which worked fine on my Sherpa steel tank.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Does anyone have any experience yet removing the plastics on a GS? I want to get under/remove the fuel tank. Removed what appeared obvious with no luck.
Yes I have done this to run the wiring for a Garmin GPS, there's lots of screws involved but only two types, plus the long front centre bolt.

What I referenced was the Max BMW Parts Fiche, it shows where the shouldered and non-shoulder screws belong.
http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fiche/DiagramsMid/B0009058.png?v=07242017
http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fiche/DiagramsMid/B0009070.png?v=07242017
http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fiche/DiagramsMain.aspx?vid=59125&rnd=07242017

Treat the plastics as the one unit even though there are two sides and a centre piece. If it is tight in one place then you've missed a screw. Once you have the whole tank plastics loose you then have to expand it slightly to get each side over the fuel tank 'wings'.

Reactions: G0MYW and Nhoy

·
Registered
31 Posts