BMW G310 R/GS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a novice rider, and only just beginning my motorcycling journey. Today, I went out on a much longer ride, probably 50 to 60 miles total. I've noticed my left wrist is hurting - opening and closing my fingers is fine (ie clutch lever), but when I hold my arm out and attempt to rotate my hand left and right, I can feel some pain in the area on the left side of my wrist. It doesn't hurt unless I actually move - even typing is okay, just the rotating is not.

Has this happened to anyone else before? Is it just soreness from seldom used muscles getting work, or injury? Maybe just noobish improper riding technique or improperly adjusted controls? Curious to hear thoughts. Thanks.

·
Registered
469 Posts
I think you have identified many of the possible reasons, which it could be any of.
One you did not mention that I have found many new riders tend to do is,
gripping the bars too tight.
Try relaxing your grip, adjusting the bars forward or back, and see how that works.
Each body is a different shape, but the bikes are all the same from the factory.
I installed 30mm bar risers that were $40 and made a big difference for comfort.
As a new rider, your dealer should have helped you with the set up when you
bought it, but many don't and just take the money and hand you the key.
Good luck

Reactions: Makedon and G0MYW

·
Premium Member
436 Posts
If you have not had a problem with your wrist before, I would doubt that this is a true injury, it sounds more like getting used to riding. Tickster gives good advice here, try different things and see how things go. On the other hand, don't wait too long before getting a doctor's opinion, either if it doesn't go away or gets worse.

Reactions: G0MYW

·
Registered
8 Posts