BMW G310 R/GS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

This is my first post in this forum so as in Sympathy for the devil... "please allow me to introduce myself...". I know there's a specific thread for that but since I don't have my baby GS yet I don't feel entitled to do so... yet.

I am 44, male 5'7", 152lbs, 31" inseam. I started riding at 16 and enjoyed my Yamaha XV750 Virago in my home country Spain for 20 years when life took me to flat and straight South Florida. Lack of mountains and curvy roads in my current area (Broward County) as well as young kids discouraged me from getting back on two wheels, but I am planning to change that soon.

After thorough investigation I found the BMW G310 GS to be my choice (thinking to use it mainly for weekend morning unwinding, 80% back roads / 20% dirt roads), enough power for short range highways, not too much to make it unsafe. And what the hell, it looks amazing!

My biggest concern at this point is the fact I'm vertically challenged (love the expression). Not a concern for long rides, but with so many traffic lights in the area I will need to put my foot/feet on the ground quite often, and I want to do it as safely as possible.

I have read every thread in this forum with regards to that topic (thank everyone for that) and come up with the following conclusions - though not everyone will agree:

• BMW lower seat configuration does not make a big difference (and it becomes significantly less comfortable). Not worth the money.
  • Spring preload can help adjust rider sag. Not sure how much that will buy me but definitely I'm planning on playing with it.
  • Lower suspension kit. OK, I love the bike, but am I willing to throw in the extra bucks on a new ride just to make it work for me? Would it not be wiser to give up on it and go for a lower seat ride - such as the 310R?